Dungeons & Dragons Online

I need clarification on cover rules when playing on a grid

Content of the article: "I need clarification on cover rules when playing on a grid"

First post, please bear with me.

DMG p. 251 cover rules when playing on on a grid say:

To determine whether a target has cover against an attack or other effect on a grid, choose a corner of the attacker’s space or the point of origin of an area of effect. Then trace imaginary lines from that corner to every corner of any one square the target occupies. If one or two of those lines are blocked by an obstacle (including another creature), the target has half cover. If three or four of those lines are blocked but the attack can still reach the target (such as when the target is behind an arrow slit), the target has three-quarters cover.

DMG Diagram:

https://imgur.com/f2Prm3Q

I've also read other cover rules that say:

Walls, trees, creatures, and other obstacles can provide cover during combat, making a target more difficult to harm. A target can benefit from cover only when an attack or other effect originates on the opposite side of the cover.
There are three degrees of cover. If a target is behind multiple sources of cover, only the most protective degree of cover applies; the degrees aren't added together. For example, if a target is behind a creature that gives half cover and a tree trunk that gives three-quarters cover, the target has three-quarters cover.
A target with half cover has a +2 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws. A target has half cover if an obstacle blocks at least half of its body. The obstacle might be a low wall, a large piece of furniture, a narrow tree trunk, or a creature, whether that creature is an enemy or a friend.
A target with three-quarters cover has a +5 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws. A target has three-quarters cover if about three-quarters of it is covered by an obstacle. The obstacle might be a portcullis, an arrow slit, or a thick tree trunk.
A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect. A target has total cover if it is completely concealed by an obstacle.

Read:  The time my Rogue became a Bard involuntarily

So what blocks an imaginary line in the DMG explanation?

The other cover rules say that a low wall would count as half cover, in the DMG diagram what if those black squares were low walls?

Do the imaginary lines become blocked?

If they do become blocked does that mean a creature surrounded by low walls would have total cover since all the lines are blocked, but they're only low walls so it would be half cover, right?

Any help would be appreciated, I'm confused as hell.

Source: reddit.com

Similar Guides

© Post "I need clarification on cover rules when playing on a grid" for game Dungeons & Dragons Online.




Top 7 NEW Games of June 2020

Quite a few exciting games are releasing for PC, PS4, Xbox One, and Nintendo in June. Here's what to keep an eye on.


Top 10 NEW Open World Games of 2020

Video games with open worlds continue to roll out in 2020 on PC, PS4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and beyond. Here are some to look forward to!


Top 10 Best New Upcoming Games 2020-2021

The best selection of games which will be released in 2020 and 2021 for PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Google Stadia and PC - and you can watch in amazing UHD 4K and 60FPS with latest updates about all of the games in this list!


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *